News

Lichtenberg-Kolleg Colloquium

Programme Colloquium Summer Term 2018 

Wednesday, 11th April, 4.15 p.m. Demetrius Eudell (Wesleyan University):

“A Language for the Eye”: Lichtenberg, Lavater, Hogarth and the Spirit of Observation in the 18th Century

Wednesday, 18th April 2018, 4.15 p.m. Temi Odumosu (University of Malmö):

The Taboo Touch: Artists, Africans and Graphic Satire in 18th Century England

Wednesday, 25th April, 4.15 p.m. John McCormick (University of Chicago):

The Crisis of Democracy and the Populist Cry of Pain

Wednesday, 2nd May, 6.15 p.m. Jürgen Schlumbohm (Göttingen):

Verbotene Liebe, verborgene Kinder. Das Geheime Buch des Göttinger Geburtshospitals, 1794-1857

Wednesday, 9th May, 4.15 p.m. Fania Oz-Salzberger (University of Haifa):

Isaiah Berlin Revisited: his ideas of Enlightenment, Nationalism, and Germany in current perspective

Wednesday, 16th May No colloquium
Wednesday, 23rd May, 4.15 p.m. Hiram Morgan (University College Cork):

Servant and Subverter of Empire: Ireland in the history of Imperialism

Wednesday, 30th May, 4.15 p.m. Yael Almog (Lichtenberg-Kolleg):

Lethal Zion: On the Jewish Longing for Europe

Wednesday, 6th June, 4.15 p.m. Jennifer Pitts (University of Chicago):

Boundaries of the International. Law and Empire

Wednesday, 13th June, 4.15 p.m. Zsófia Lóránd (Lichtenberg-Kolleg):

Feminist intellectual history in East Central Europe

Wednesday, 20th June, 4.15 p.m. Richard Fischer (Cambridge):

Writing a Book Proposal / Academic Publishing in the 21st Century

Wednesday, 27th June, 4.15 p.m. Georgios Varouxakis (Queen Mary University London / Lichtenberg-Kolleg):

tba

Monday, 4th June 2018, 6.15 p.m.           

John Monfasani (University at Albany-SUNY): Paul Oskar Kristeller and His German Teachers

 

 

 

 

Categories: News